Veronica: An Introduction

16950303_d1ca8db7c7         

My name is Veronica- proud to be born and bred from New Jersey to a Puerto Rican mother and a Korean and black father. I’ll be 24 next month in October. Yes a true Scorpio. My friends call me Loca aka Rosie Perez aka Kimora Lee. I have an economics degree from Duke University with a minor in law, and a devout passion for dance, music and fashion. I’m not your average female at all, and that’s my claim to fame. I get my bad attitude from my mom’s side of the family- everyone has a bad attitude right on down to my 2yr old Chihuahua.  I’ve had more downs than ups in dating. I lost count on how many times I’ve gotten my heart broken. And they all have the same line “you’re everything I want, I’m just not ready to commit. But then it kills me to see you with another man.” After a while a woman gets tired of that shit, knowing we deserve better but continuing to settle.  But how many frogs do I have to kiss before I find that damn prince?

Clearly I have a lot going for myself, but at the end of the day I’m like everyone else. I want a simple love life with one person who wants me for me. Not because I look like Amerie with tits and azz. As fly as my ass is, I’m still insecure. I still get afraid that everytime I get close to a man that he’ll leave. It all began with the crushing breakup with my first love, and it took me almost 3 years to realize he was never coming back.  Throughout college I’d gotten used to allowing men to use me as their trophy pieces, never once finding someone who truly made me happy. I settled for being arm candy and even the other woman to avoid being alone.  I equated loneliness with being alone and that wasn’t realistic at all. Before I knew it I was graduating from college, so I knew I had to make a decision about how I wanted to move forward in life. I packed my shit and moved to NYC in search of a fly azz career in fashion and a new start in life.  I’m currently working in marketing and accounting for a top tier insurance company, living in my own apartment, new car, and a shoe closet almost as fierce as Carrie Bradshaw. It appears as though I have it all…but at the end of the day I still come home to a quiet azz apt, hop in bed wit a bag of chips and salsa con queso and a glass of white zinfandel. Lonely azz fuck. One day, all those lonely nights turned into 8 months of romantic, passionate, hardcore boot-knockin’ with my Uncle’s stepson…..

 

To be continued..

~ by A. Nicole on September 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
