“Body and Soul”- Veronica #21

It’s so odd how people become a part of your life. Technically you shouldn’t question God on things like this, but you still sometimes want an explanation. Why THIS person?

I often found myself asking that about RJ. This long distance thing is harder than I thought, but it’s going well so far. I’m going to Charlotte for Christmas at my grandmother’s and RJ will be spending Christmas Day with my family. He’s meeting my parents for the first time. I’m not really nervous, but I don’t know what to expect. The only man my parents know about is Miguel…I had to tell somebody! My parents trusted my judgment, and agreed that leaving him alone was a wise decision.

RJ mentioned that he wanted to meet my parents for about a year, but at the time I was too busy trying to understand why we couldn’t be solid, this break-ups to make-ups was making my head spin. I felt the time was right, as I felt that now I knew for sure that he was put in my life for a reason, despite the drama of college romance and heartbreak. RJ wasn’t my first love of course, but I remember meeting him and instantly knowing that I wanted him around in some shape or form. Little did I know that he wanted the same for me.

My grandma would love RJ because he’s tall, dark, and handsome…guaranteed to give her some beautiful great-grandbabies (which is all she talks about, ugly babies.) My mother would appreciate RJ for his humor and humility. I had no idea what to expect from my father, a retired colonel from the Marines. There was no point in getting an ulcer from all the what-ifs of the meeting. RJ told me that he had nothing to worry about, because he’s a likeable person. True. I just wanted everyone to accept the love that RJ and I have for one another.


I couldn’t remember the last time I wanted someone this bad. Thinking of RJ makes me smile and cry at the same time, and that’s a scary feeling. RJ and I made jokes of being married without having a wedding, similar to Carrie and Big. I honestly never dreamed of having a white summer wedding like most little girls, as being married was never a big deal to me. I imagined myself to be more like the Honorable Sonia Sotomayor or Oprah….career-driven. I believed that I could be happy in life without being married or having children of my own. I actually considered adoption. Still, RJ turned me into Suzy Homemaker, apron and all. He was truly the only man to bring that out of me, and Miguel was fortunate enough to get a sample of all the love I truly have to offer. I felt myself falling in love with RJ all over again….unconditional and limitless. Life is good!

~ by A. Nicole on March 3, 2010.

2 Responses to ““Body and Soul”- Veronica #21”

  1. Great Post! I swear Veronica and RJ are just like me and my ‘hubby’.

  2. i know about you and hubby…..yall are too cute!

Leave a Reply

 
