Monae~Crossing The Line

The ride to dinner seemed unusally long….it could’ve been the fact that there was silence for the most part. I knew in my head that this was wrong. I should not be in this man’s car and allowing him to take me to dinner. I should not be feeling as though I want to get to know him a little better. I should not be plotting on how I could spend more time with him after this. This man belonged to another woman by law…..so why was I even entertaining him?? He interrupted my thoughts by asking me why I was giving him the cold shoulder. I glanced at him out of the corner of my eye and realized he was staring at me. Instead of immediately answering him, I pulled my Blackberry out of my purse and pretended to be checking something important.

Monae….you’re going to have to speak to me at some point tonight…

I don’t think I should be here with you right now James…I just…

You just what? You act as though I’m trying to sleep with you…or take advantage of  you. What’s wrong with having dinner with a new friend? If anything, you’re more of a threat to me than I am to you…

ME? A threat to YOU? Excuse me???? I beg to differ!

He didn’t bother to answer as he was pulling in to the valet area of the restaurant. My door was opened and I took a deep breath before stepping out into the night. James appeared beside me and led the way into this low key but seemingly expensive lobby. He was greeted warmly and immediately by the wait staff and we were led to a quiet corner overlooking Miami Beach. Once our drink orders were taken, the silence ensued once more.

He began telling me that he and his wife fell out of touch. He tried to rekindle the relationship but he claims that he knew she wasn’t in love with him anymore. In my head I’m thinking, “How the hell can she NOT love this man?!!” But then I had to realize that I was on the outside looking in. I only knew the story according to James’ account……and all that he was saying pointed arrows at his wife being the reason for their marriage’s downfall. I hope he didn’t think I was born yesterday. I continued to listen to his story as I enjoyed my dinner. I must admit he had excellent taste. As the night wore on and I became slightly buzzed from the wine, I began to relax a bit more.

Soon we were laughing and whispering in each other’s ear. Once again, time seemed to become lost and before I knew it, it was almost midnight. I noticed that no one came over to check on us and when I mentioned it to him, he told me that he’s a “regular” who usually keeps late hours there. Hmmmm….

We left the restaurant soon after and were headed back to pick up my car from his club. I expressed that I’d enjoyed myself once again in his company and  left it at that. I didn’t want to be as forward as I was the night before now that I knew his situation. Once we arrived, he got out and came to open the door for me. He walked me to my car and I was beyond tired by then. Before I could get in, he pulled me towards him and hugged me. I figured he was just feeling…..I don’t know….grateful??

She won’t sign the divorce papers…..she won’t let me go. I don’t know what else to do….

Where was all of this coming from??? He didn’t seem to want to let go of me so I just allowed him to hold me.  He spoke again…

Come stay the night with me…..

~ by Monae on July 28, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
