Date With Destiny~Milan

I caught my reflection in one of the hanging mirrors courtesy of this extra ass wedding decor. “Not a strand out of place.” I thought to myself as a slick smile began to creep its way onto my features. Looking at the bouquet in my hand with disgust, I rolled my eyes and tossed it into the first trash bin I spotted. I had successfully made my presence known so the next step was waiting for him to come to me. I hope he hurried up because I’m sick to death of this whole phony ass showcase of “love.” Love don’t love no damn body! My eyes once again found the woman he had brought with him and I tried to ignore the slight pang of jealousy that coursed through me but it was hard not to. She was everything I could not be to him…the way they interacted with each other told me what most would be oblivious to. He loved her. She may not have known it yet but I knew. Sometimes I wished…

“Milan”

The stern way he spoke my name snapped me completely out of daydream. I turned to look at him and smiled. I wanted to reach up and caress his face…I let my eyes communicate what my mouth wouldn’t allow.

“Milan…do you want to explain what the fuck that stunt you pulled was about?”

“James…what are you…”

“Not today Milan! What do you want this time? Huh? I told you I was done!”

I narrowed my eyes in annoyance. Oh this man must have forgotten who I am.

“James…let’s not forget the reason your ass is even relevant today. I came here waving my white flag and this is the way you come at me? You must have me confused with one of these simple hoes but let me remind you that just as quickly as you got this shit, it can disappear…right along with YOU. Are we clear???

I could see the tension in his jaw and a small part of me wanted to ease it and whatever else he needed to release but that wasn’t what I came here to do. I needed him…I just had to figure out how to get him back on my side without dealing with all this shade he has for me. Grabbing his hand in mine & interlocking my fingers through his, my breathing slowed as he pulled me closer and ran his free hand through my curls. I inhaled his cologne and became dizzy with lust. I let out a soft moan until he tightened his grip on my hair and clenched my hand with a death grip. My eyes widened in shock.

“Now YOU listen to ME. Stay the fuck away from me Milan. Stay away from my girl. I’m only going to tell you this one time. If I see your face again, anywhere…you’ll regret you EVER crossed paths with me.”

To the untrained eye, we looked like a couple caught up in a romantic embrace. When I tried to snatch away from him, he decided to let go at the same time which caused me to stumble a bit. He straightened his tie and walked off as though nothing had happened.

I watched as he made his way back to HER. I watched the chemistry spark between them so effortlessly. I hate him. He’s going to pay for this shit. Please believe that.

~ by Monae on June 11, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
