Emotional Takeover~Monae

I woke up in an empty bed. My mind was groggy & unfamiliar with the surroundings until I smelled his cologne on the pillows.

James

Wrapping the sheets around my frame, I sat up and ran my hands through my hair trying to portray some sort of presentable look.  Glancing towards the balcony, I saw him sitting in deep thought as dark clouds threatened a downpour. I felt myself flush while small butterflies became present in my belly. He made me feel so many things, but…

I had the unnerving feeling that becoming involved with him would lead me down the road to disaster. We left the wedding together extremely intoxicated and unable to keep our hands to ourselves. My better sense of judgment had gone home for the day and I intended to quench my thirst…but HE had other things in mind…that involved none of that. I guess I should respect that he didn’t go straight for my panties although I would’ve willingly gave in to temptation.

It was as if my thoughts were the lightning that began to rapidly pierce the sky.

James came back in through the balcony doors just before the sky opened up and the rain fell singing his own rendition of Raheem Devaughn’s “Mo Better”. His voice was smooth and made me drip like honey from a beehive. He grabbed me from the bed and pulled me into his arms asking me to dance with him. I blushed uncontrollably…laughing to overshadow my nervousness.

“James there’s not even any music on…”

“What? You don’t hear me serenading you Mo? Damn! Do I sound that bad?

The way I felt as he held me tightly in his arms was heavenly enough to swear off another man for the rest of my life. I felt my heart beat a li’l faster…I felt myself relaxing, melting even…I felt the need to be as close to him as I could possibly get. I wanted this to last forever…and something told me he would do whatever he had to in order to make sure it happened. Could it be…?

Damn..why couldn’t I shake that feeling of dread though???

~ by Monae on June 19, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
